Skip to Content

Congratulations to Matthew Truong, recipient of the ICTR-Shapiro Medical Student Research Fellowship

Congratulations to medical student Matthew Truong as the first recipient of the UW School of Medicine and Public Health ICTR-Shapiro Medical Student Research Fellowship. On behalf of Dr. Herb Chen, Chair of the Student Research Committee, and Dr. Byron Course, Interim Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Matthew was chosen with great enthusiasm for the work he proposes to do with Dr. David Jarrard, Professor of Urology and the John Livesey Chair in Urologic Oncology, on the “Development of DNA Methylation Urine-based Screen for Prostate Cancer." The work was unanimously cited for clearly linking important translational potential to improve the clinical care of patients. Appreciation was also extended to Dr. Jarrard for his generous commitment to support and mentor Matthew during his Fellowship year. Copyright © 2017 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System