Skip to Content


The Endourology Program at the University of Wisconsin-Madison is an Endourology Society accredited fellowship. The fellowship program was started by Dr. Stephen Nakada in 2002. The fellowship is currently a two-year program, with both a clinical and academic focus.


Dr. Sara Best, Dr. Sean Hedican and Dr. Stephen Nakada are the fellowship directors. Other faculty includes Dr. David Jarrard, an expert in robotic prostatectomy. Fellows will have an opportunity to master the medical management of stone disease through participation in our multi-disciplinary stone clinic, including working with PhD dietician Kris Penniston and nephrologist Dr. Allen Jhagroo.

During the course of their clinical training, our fellows gain broad experience in endourology, laparoscopy, robotics, and percutaneous surgery. The full range of minimally-invasive therapies for kidney tumors are explored, including laparoscopic/
robotic partial nephrectomy, radical nephrectomy, and percutaneous and laparoscopic ablation. Faculty in radiology include Dr. John McDermott and Dr. Fred Lee, Jr.

2 year logs:
Ureteroscopy 250
PCNL 100
Lap/robotic upper tract 75
Lap/robo lower tract 150
Ablation 40


All endourology fellows have dedicated research time and a dedicated research lab, including access to a PhD. The expectation of the fellow is that he or she complete a basic science project, as well as all of the appropriate Endourology Society fellowship requirements. Fellows also have access to a brand new, state-of-the-art Simulation Center to develop their laparoscopic skills as well as for potential investigations. A fully equipped animal laboratory is also available.

Our fellows also are involved in clinical and teaching exercises associated with our residency program as the fellowship regulations allow. Any inquires should be addressed to Dr. Sean Hedican or Dr. Stephen Nakada.

Contact Information

Portrait of Sara Best, MD Sara Best, MD
Associate Professor (CHS)
Phone: (608) 263-9534
Portrait of Sean P Hedican, MD Sean P Hedican, MD
Associate Professor (CHS)
Phone: (608) 263-9534
Portrait of Stephen Y Nakada, MD, FACS, FRCS(Glasg.) Stephen Y Nakada, MD, FACS, FRCS
Chairman, Department of Urology
Phone: (608) 263-1359
Portrait of Denise A Mussehl Denise A Mussehl
Educational Programs Manager
Phone: (608) 265-2910
E-mail: Copyright © 2018 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System