Skip to Content


The Urology program at the University of Wisconsin started in the 1920s under the direction of Dr. Ira Sisk. Dr. Sisk was an expert in the function of the human bladder, and he was involved in cystoscopic instrumentation and technology. Since Dr. Sisk’s tenure, there have been five Chairman of Urology; Dr. John Wear, Sr., Dr. John Wear, Jr., Dr. Kenneth Cummings, Dr. David Uehling, and Dr. Stephen Nakada.

The tradition of academic urology at the University of Wisconsin focused on the neurogenic bladder and inflammatory bladder diseases. Dr. Kenneth Cummings was a urologic oncologist, and Dr. David Uehling was a clinical pediatric urologist with an extensive academic interest in urinary tract infections. Dr. Stephen Nakada has international expertise in urolithiasis and minimally invasive urology. During Dr. Nakada’s tenure as Chairman, Urology became the 16th Department at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health in 2008.

Today, the Department of Urology boasts 16 faculty, eight mid-level providers, and three Ph.D.’s with a total staff of more than 60 individuals. The department has a fully accredited Residency Program, an Endourology Society-approved fellowship, and sub-specialists in all domains of clinical and academic urology. The Department of Urology at the University of Wisconsin is routinely recognized as a top hospital in urology by US News & World Report. Copyright © 2017 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System